It is easy to overlook that driving is a privilege, not a right. You earn this privilege by passing your driving test, and you maintain it by obeying applicable traffic laws. In New York State, you can get your driver’s license suspended or revoked based on your behavior behind the wheels, or if you are tried and convicted of certain serious violations.
How DWI can result in suspension or revocation of your driver’s license in New York
Driving under of influence of alcohol or drugs, for instance, can result in your license being suspended for a minimum of 90 days. The more severe your DWI offense is, such as involvement in an accident or extremely high level of alcohol in your blood, the longer the suspension will be. Your driver’s license will be automatically revoked if you are convicted of DWI and you are below 21 years of age, or if you are convicted of a second DWI offense within 10 years.
Applying for a restricted license
You may be eligible for a restricted driver’s license if your original license is suspended as a result of a DWI. However, a restricted license, as the name indicates will grossly limit your driving. You can only use this license to drive to work or school, drop and pick up your children from school or daycare, travel to a health facility for medical reasons, or drive to and from the court or the DMV for your restricted license-related case. If your license was suspended as a result of a DWI violation, you will only be eligible for a restricted license upon enrolling in a Drinking Driver Program that is certified by New York State.
Losing your driver’s license, even for a couple of weeks, can have a huge impact on your life. You may have trouble getting to your workplace, dropping or picking kids from school, or running daily errands. DWI cases often come with highly technical evidence and tough penalties. Working with a qualified New York DWI lawyer can help you make informed decisions when your license is on the line.